DIAPER CAKE

A different type of cake this week….the non-edible kind!

A lady Chris works with very kindly made us this amazing “cake” for a surprise baby shower that his work threw us. I have never seen a diaper (nappy) cake in real life, only on Pinterest. It’s a fab idea for parents-to-be and makes a great centre piece for a party!

We have never been to a baby shower before, I’m really not sure how common they even are in the UK but over here  almost everyone has one, they go hand in hand with a baby registry (like a wedding registry), again another thing I’m not sure really exists in the UK, we’ve certainly never some across them!

They decorated a room at work with banners and rattles, they had a cake made for us and punch to drink. They even made little favour boxes and gave us some lovely cards and presents.

IMG_1534

It was really really nice of them and we both had a great time.  As time creeps on and we’ve been busy attending baby classes and trying to sort everything out before baby arrives, it was lovely to have a little party to celebrate and we were both a bit overwhelmed by peoples kindness and thoughtfulness. I’m now fully converted to the idea of baby showers, they have a real “feel-good” effect and I will definitely be trying to create a diaper cake in the future, I think they’re awesome!

IMG_9006

 

Mummy and Monkeys
14 comments on “DIAPER CAKE

  1. I had a baby shower with Max but I don’t think il bother this time. Nappies cakes are lovely I also got made one the thing was thou I didn’t like the brand of nappie. I see you urs are Huggies they don’t sell them here in the UK anymore.

    Like

  2. I love baby showers and they are pretty popular with my group of friends. Nappy cakes are a fairly new one on me, I like the one in the photo! We held one for a friend and had someone come to do mini reflexology and mini facials for people, it was good fun:)

    #picknmix

    Like

  3. I had a baby shower with my eldest & it really was fun. I’ve never had a nappy cake but always thought they looked really impressive. Glad you had a good time at your shower 🙂

    #picknmix

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Aww what a lovely nappy cake. I’ve made them for friends before and little baby sock cupcakes too. I sold them for a while and had so much fun doing it. Looks like a lovely baby shower. Thanks for linking to #PickNMix

    Like

  5. Awesome diaper cake! Ha ha! That’s really nice of your partner’s work mates to throw you a baby shower. They’re not common in the UK (I’ve realised when I was pregnant) but they are starting to creep in. My Mom was over here when I was pregnant and really, really wanted to do a baby shower so she put it all together for my friends and I….I basically just made them drink White Russian out of a baby bottle. ; ) Anyway I love the cake, how far along are you?? Thanks for linking up with #StayClassy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

